The Union could not show how the 2008 Entitlement Rules were made, and its appeals against disabled soldiers failed
Justices Pamidighantam Sri Narasimha and Alok Aradhe held that the 2008 Entitlement Rules substantially reproduce the 1982 scheme, and dismissed a batch of 271 appeals on delay and on merits.
Around 271 civil appeals and special leave petitions were before the Supreme Court on 15 September 2026, and every one of them had the same shape: an ex-serviceman had been refused the disability element of his service pension, the Armed Forces Tribunal or a High Court had given it to him, and the Union of India had appealed. Most of the appeals were barred by limitation. A Bench of Justices Pamidighantam Sri Narasimha and Alok Aradhe dismissed the batch on delay and on merits. Along the way the Court recorded that the Union could not fully demonstrate the source, the time or the method by which the Entitlement Rules of 2008 — the rules it was relying on — had ever been brought into force.
A docket that would not stop growing
The Court was blunt about why the batch existed at all. When appeals of this kind were being listed before it, many of them filed with enormous delay, it asked the Attorney General to inquire why the Union was preferring so many of them. The concern, the judgment records, was not the filing of appeals but a system in which the same dispute kept recurring despite a conclusive judgment of this Court. Nothing really happened after that. Appeals and special leave petitions continued to be filed, and the growing docket had to be taken up for disposal.
The facts behind each appeal were identical in structure. A Release Medical Board, at the first instance of assessment, opined that the disability was neither attributable to nor aggravated by military service. The intra-departmental appeals of the ex-servicemen were dismissed on the strength of that opinion. The ex-servicemen then went to the Armed Forces Tribunal or to the High Courts, which interfered and granted the disability element on the view that the disability was attributable to or aggravated by service. The appeals before the Supreme Court challenged both the Tribunal's orders and the High Court orders confirming them.
What the 1982 Rules actually did
The framework goes back further than most of the litigation. The British Government's Pension Regulations of 1940 introduced definitive pension rules for army personnel; the Wartime Rules of 1946 brought in the language of attributability through phrases such as directly attributable and materially aggravated. After Independence the Army Act, the Air Force Act and the Navy Act carried dedicated pension regulations, followed by the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 and then the Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards, 1982.
Two provisions of the 1982 Rules carry the weight of the scheme. Rule 5 sets up twin presumptions: a service member is presumed to have been in sound physical and mental condition on entering service, except for disabilities explicitly noted at the time. Rule 9 goes further and says the claimant shall not be called upon to prove the conditions of entitlement; the claimant receives the benefit of any reasonable doubt, and that benefit is to be applied even more liberally for those in field or afloat service. The burden, in other words, sat with the establishment.
The case the Union had to get around
Standing in the Union's way was Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India, reported in 2013. A Sepoy had been boarded out of the Army with effect from 1 April 1994 on a 20 per cent permanent disability from generalised seizure, assessed as neither attributable nor aggravated, and refused the disability element. A Single Judge of the High Court granted it; a Division Bench took it away on the Union's appeal. Reading the 1961 Regulations, the 1982 Rules and the Guide to Medical Officers together, the Supreme Court set out what the scheme meant: a member with nothing noted at entry is presumed sound, later deterioration is presumed due to service, the onus of proving non-entitlement lies with the employer, and the claimant has a right to the benefit of any reasonable doubt.
The Attorney General's answer was that Dharamvir was decided under the 1982 Rules and cannot be applied mechanically to claims governed by the 2008 Rules, which expressly recognise that manifestation of a disease during service does not by itself establish attributability or aggravation. Entitlement, he argued, needs two things and not one: a finding of attributability or aggravation, and an accepted degree of disability of 20 per cent or more; clearing the percentage threshold proves nothing about causation. Conditions of constitutional, metabolic or degenerative origin — hypertension, diabetes mellitus, ischaemic heart disease — call for disease-specific assessment rather than a presumption. And belated challenges deserve caution, because the passage of time destroys the contemporaneous material that causal nexus depends on.
The rules the Union could not trace
The difficulty, the Court said, arises with the Entitlement Rules 2008. On examination it found that the Union was unable to demonstrate fully the source, the time and the method by which those Rules were brought into force by repealing or superseding the 1982 Rules. The Attorney General's position was that amendments had been made from time to time and were not necessarily promulgated as separate Rules, and that the 2008 Rules were issued by a letter dated 18 January 2010 as a compilation of policy developed in consultation with competent authorities.
The Court then turned to the Ministry of Defence's own 2015 report on service and pension matters, litigation and grievance redressal, known as the Raksha Mantri Report. Paragraph 2.4.8 of Chapter II is headed with the suspect legality of the 2008 Pension Regulations and the 2010 Entitlement Rules. The departmental representatives had told the committee that the 2008 Regulations were merely a collection of policies issued from time to time, that no minutes had been kept of any discussion during the compilation, and that they did not carry the sanction required under the Rules of Business. The committee's conclusion was that the senior levels of the Ministry had been “kept totally in the dark” about what had been done.
The report gave an example of what the compilation achieved. Regulation 16 of the 1961 Regulations implies that, unlike in the civil services, pension is not forfeited in the defence services on voluntary resignation unless the person is called upon to resign or to retire and refuses. In the 2008 compilation, a note under Regulation 17 provides that pension shall be forfeited on resignation. The committee described the change as having been incorporated by a “sleight of hand” in the name of compiling existing policy.
Reproduction, not departure
Having set that out, the Court declined to treat the two sets of rules as different animals. It held that the 2008 Rules, assuming they otherwise have legal effect, substantially reproduce the 1982 scheme of causal connection, onus, and attributability or aggravation. The 2008 Rules removed the automatic presumption and strengthened the requirement of a causal nexus, but they did not dismantle the claimant-protective structure: the primary burden stays with the establishment, and the beneficial principles governing attributability, aggravation and reasonable doubt survive.
The Court was careful not to overstate the point. It was not prepared to hold that the two sets of rules are identical in every particular. Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules carries a proviso that Rule 9 of the 1982 Rules did not: where a claim is preferred more than fifteen years after discharge, invalidment or release, the onus shifts to the claimant. That is the one real qualification, and the Court said so in terms.
Three High Court decisions — Bhaskaran, Anil Madso and Col. Balbir Singh — had reached the same conclusion, and the special leave petition against Col. Balbir Singh had already been dismissed. On the Court's reading, the present appeals had no independent legs to stand on, because appeals against orders of exactly this kind had been dismissed already.
The numbers the Court put on the record
Two sets of figures sit in the concluding part of the judgment. The first comes from the Raksha Mantri Report, which recommended the immediate withdrawal of appeals of this nature pending against disabled soldiers. The Ministry of Defence accepted that recommendation by a letter of 7 September 2018. The Court recorded that the recommendation has not been faithfully implemented, and that appeals of this class are filed and continue to be filed.
The second set came through the Right to Information Act, 2005 and concerns what happens before the matter ever reaches a court. Of 2,997 appeals before the First Appellate Authority, almost 2,855 were rejected and 142 accepted. Of 456 appeals before the Second Appellate Authority, 439 were rejected and 17 accepted. The report itself had observed that in India many disabled soldiers are still denied benefits on “hyper-technical reasons”.
What the Tribunal must now do
The Court accepted part of what the Attorney General pressed. The opinion of the Medical Board deserves due weight and ought not to be substituted by a court merely because another view is possible. In pending matters, the Tribunal must scrutinise in detail the opinion and the reasons expressed by the Medical Board before deciding a claim.
That cuts both ways. Where the Medical Board and the departmental appeals have rejected a claim and the Tribunal or the High Court has allowed the application by applying the presumption or following Dharamvir Singh without a detailed examination of the evidence the ex-serviceman actually produced, the Court said there is a case for revisiting those decisions. It left it to the Union to identify such cases and raise the objection, rather than appealing as a class.
Order
The special leave petitions and civil appeals were dismissed on the grounds of delay as well as on merits. The Court directed that the opinion of the Medical Board be given due weight and not displaced merely because another view is possible, and that Tribunals examine the Board's reasons in detail in pending matters. Where a claimant approaches the forum more than fifteen years after discharge, invalidment or release, the principle in Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules applies and the onus is on the applicant to prove the conditions of entitlement. There was no order as to costs.